The Changes of Hopscotch

community
tagica

There is no doubt about it: Hopscotch has changed. Over the years, the platform has been modified to accommodate more users with different interests, and has grown into much more than a place to create code.

Now, hopscotch is not just for code, but also to express creativity. Although it is primarily meant for code, users can share their creativity through literature (RPs), art (trail art/drawings) and many other ways. However, putting all of this into perspective, change can be both positive and negative.

I have been hopscotching since 2014, so I have been here to see all of the changes Hopscotch has been through. I will share 3 positive points and 3 negative points. At the end of the topic, I will have a poll: please share your thoughts on the poll. I would also love to see any additional comments in the reply section! :slightly_smiling_face:

The Positives

People on the app have grown a closer bond. I know that. We all have the forum to fall back on for support, and virtual friends and communicators. I don’t know many people who enjoy or understand code or programming, but I can always count on my fellow forumers for that.

The visual aspect of the app has gotten a lot better to. I remember the 2014 version of the app looked extremely traditional and basic. Now, I can see that the whole look of the app has modernized and looks very finished and sleek now. The visual changes also help for better coding and effectiveness.

There has been so many changes to the actual editor on Hopscotch. There have been additions to accommodate more blocks, and subtractions to take out the insufficient ones. I think a year or two ago, shapes and more icons were added to make for more creative freedom. A few blocks and categories in the editor have been changed or joined together for a cleaner look.

The Negatives