Introduction to Algebra

So, as I said earlier in a post, I will be trying to help people here better understand basic algebra. Now, I’m not a professional teacher, I am not educated in educating people, but I think I may be able to help some of you.

Now, algebra isn’t really a complicated subject. It is essentially the study of more complicated arithmetic equations, with some new concepts like variables, parameters, more operators, and functions. This is how Wikipedia defines algebra: " In its most general form, algebra is the study of mathematical symbols and the rules for manipulating these symbols". And I guess this is a decent explanation, but you can’t really understand what algebra is before learning it.

So, here’s a brief overview of what I’m going to try and review:

• Introduction to algebra: A review of the structure of an equation
  • Introduction to variables: The concept of replacing numbers with non-numeric symbols
  • Parameters
  • Systems of equations
  • Introduction to polynomials: Factoring and multiplying polynomials (this may take several posts)
  • Solving second degree polynomials
  • Inequalities with polynomials
  • Logarithms and other algebraic functions

This isn’t final, and I may add and remove topics. If you have any suggestions, don’t hesitate to post them!

Please vote below whether or not you’d like to be tagged when I post something:

Do you want to be tagged when I post an explanation?
  • Yes
  • No

0 voters

Thank you!

17 Likes

Here’s the first post. Hopefully everything is understandable, and if you have any questions, feel free to ask! Everything here should be a review, but ask if something doesn’t make sense to you. I wanted this to get out of the way we could get to the more interesting bits, so tell me if I rushed something too much. Thanks for reading!

Topic 1: Arithmetic review

Topic 1

Studying the structure of an equation (a review of arithmetic)